How I Started in Free Software

March 10, 2011

When I was in college, I wanted to help with something on GNOME‘s website. I don’t remember what it was. At the time they were handing out CVS accounts like candy, so I was given one to check in a quick fix.

A few months later I was goofing off with a dumb little gtk project. My bash profile still had that CVSROOT and I accidentally imported the project into GNOME’s cvs.

I was totally embarrassed and I emailed Miguel to apologize and ask him to remove it. He refused, and asked me to keep working on it there. Things happened from there, and it eventually ended up changing the entire path of my professional career.

Anyone else have a good story about how they got started?

5 Responses to “How I Started in Free Software”


  1. Hey there would you mind letting me know which hosting company you’re working with? I’ve loaded your blog in 3 completely different internet browsers and I must say this blog loads a lot faster then most. Can you recommend a good hosting provider at a reasonable price? Many thanks, I appreciate it!

  2. Shutterfly Says:

    Have you ever thought about creating an ebook or guest authoring
    on other sites? I have a blog centered on the same information you discuss
    and would love to have you share some stories/information. I know my readers
    would appreciate your work. If you are even remotely interested, feel
    free to send me an email.


  3. Since the admin of this web page is working, no question verry rapidly it
    will be famous, due to its quality contents.


  4. Hey! I know this is sort of off-topic however I needed to ask.
    Does operating a well-established website such aas yours require a
    large amount of work? I am brand new tto operating a blog but I
    do write in my diary every day. I’d like to start a blog
    so I will be able to share my experience and views online.
    Please let me know if you have any recommendations or tips for new aspiring bloggers.
    Thankyou!


  5. I enjoy what you guys are up too. Suuch clever work and exposure!
    Keep up the amazing works guyus I’ve included you guys to my personal blogroll.


Comments are closed.

